Click here for the John McMillan Mennell Award.

Click here for the Kaltenborn, Teach I Must Award.

Click here for the Distinguished Lecturer Award.

Click here for more information on the Honorary Fellow Procedure and Criteria

2017 Award Winners

2017 Kaltenborn "Teach I Must Award" Recipient

Timothy O. Fearon, PT, DPT, FAAOMPT

Timothy Fearon received his PT degree from The Ohio State University. He completed the graduate program in the Musculoskeletal Sequence at Northwestern University. He completed his Doctorate in Physical Therapy at Northern Arizona University.He founded Phoenix Manual Therapy (PMT), which initially offered courses, based on the Nordic System of orthopedic manual therapy. Phoenix Manual Therapy progressed to offering a long-term course frame for study of the Australian clinical reasoning approach to orthopedic manual therapy with integration of Norwegian techniques and therapeutic exercise. The course has been running over the last 25 years. In 2011 PMT began to sponsor Dr. Peter Gibbons & Dr. Phillip Tehan's spinal manipulation course work and Fearon is lead faculty for course one. He earned his Full Fellowship status in the American Academy of Orthopedic Manual Therapy by the challenge process in 1999; he renewed that status in 2010. Dr. Fearon is currently adjunct faculty at A. T. Still University where he teaches manual therapy of the spine and extremities at the entry level and in the residency track. He has been a guest instructor for NAU, Arizona School of Health Sciences, Regis University, Langston University, and North Georgia College. He is lead faculty for Evidence in Motion manual therapy courses, the Clinical Decision Making Class and Fellowship Virtual Rounds. He has taught manual therapy courses over the last 20 years, spoken at numerous meetings for the Arizona Physical Therapy Association, and for the APTA.

2017 John McMillan Mennell Service Award Recipient

Robert H. Rowe, PT, DPT, DMT, MHS, FAAOMPT

Dr. Rowe has an Adjunct appointment at the University of North Florida where he has taught professionalism and leadership courses as well as provided presentations on Diagnostic Imaging and several presentations within the area of Orthopaedic Management for a variety of body regions. Currently Dr. Rowe serves as the Program Coordinator for the Brooks/UNF Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy Fellowship as well as a faculty member for the Brooks/UNF Orthopaedic Residency, and the Brooks Neurologic, Geriatric, and Women’s Health Residency Programs. Dr. Rowe is a nationally recognized speaker in the management of orthopaedic conditions, professional advocacy, professionalism and leadership. He has been invited to speak at multiple AAOMPT national conferences, APTA national conferences and meetings, and APTA Chapter conferences. Dr. Rowe has taught numerous continuing education courses for over 15 years in conjunction with the Ola Grimsby Institute, New York University, LSU Health Sciences Center, and other organizations/groups.

2017 Distinguished Lecturer Presentation Recipient

Joseph M Donnelly, PT, DHS, OCS, FAAOMPT (Hon)

Dr. Joe Donnelly is a Clinical Professor and Director of Postprofessional Education in the Department of Physical Therapy. Dr. Donnelly is a founding member of the Doctor of Physical Therapy Program and the Director of the Orthopaedic, Neurologic and Cardiovascular/ Pulmonary Residency programs and the Fellowship in Orthopaedic Manual Physical therapy. He received his Doctor of Health Science Degree in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy from the University of Indianapolis, and his Master of Science in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy from the University of Pittsburgh, and his Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy from Daemen College in Buffalo, NY.

2017 Research Awards Recipients

2017 OPTP $4,000 Research Grant Award

Awarded to:

Dr. Holly Jonely
And Co-Investigators: Josh Woolstenhulme, Dhinu Jayaseelan, Joseph Signorino, Ellen Costello

“Thoracic manipulation to improve pulmonary ventilation"

2017 CARDON $6,000 Research Grant Award

Awarded to:

Dr. Brian Swanson
And Co-Investigator: J. Adrienne McAuley

“A comparison of EMG activity and glenohumeral motion during posterior glide mobilizations in healthy and stiff shoulders”

2017 Dennis Driver $4,000 Research Grant Award

Awarded to:

Dr. Jodi Young
Co-Investigator: Daniel Rhon

“Physical therapy utilization, dosing, and timing of manual therapy intervention in patients with knee osteoarthritis”