Submissions are no longer being accepted for the following awards this year:

Click here  for the Emerging Leader Award (New for 2021)

Click here  for the Distinguished Lecturer Award.

Click here for the Innovation Award (New for 2021)

Click here for the John McMillan Mennell Award.

Click here for the Kaltenborn, Teach I Must Award.

Click here for more information on the Honorary Fellow Procedure and Criteria

2019 Award Winners

2019 Kaltenborn "Teach I Must Award" Recipient

Michael O'Hearn

Michael O'Hearn, PT, MHS, OCS, FAAOMPT

Michael O'Hearn is Chief of Physical Therapy for Lakeland Regional Health System in St Joseph, Michigan and a faculty member in the UIC Fellowship Program in Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapy. Michael is also senior faculty for Maitland Australian Physiotherapy Seminars. In addition to his clinical and teaching responsibilities, he has research interest in the quantitative sensory testing and classification of spinal pain.


2019 John McMillan Mennell Service Award Recipient

Jim Rivard


Jim Rivard is the founder, co-owner and President of MTI Physical Therapy. Four years of post-graduate training specializing in orthopaedic manual therapy has made him an expert in a wide range of orthopaedic issues: sports rehabilitation, post-surgical rehabilitation, spinal injury, headache, TMJ disorders, work injury and motor vehicle collision. His passion for learning and development of clinical skill culminated in the establishment of MTI Physical Therapy as a teaching clinic for post-graduate training. His clinical achievements have been recognized with the attainment of Fellow in the AAMOPT in 1995 and a Board Certified Orthopaedic Clinical Specialist in 1997. He has been honored to currently serve as the President for the American Academy of Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapy, recognized internationally as the primary organization for manual therapy in the United States.


2019 Distinguished Lecturer Presentation Recipient

Stephen McDavitt

Stephen McDavitt, PT, DPT, MS, FAAOMPT, FAPTA

Stephen McDavitt received a B.S. and M.S. degree in Physical Therapy from Boston University and his Doctorate in PT from the MGH Institute of Health Professions. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists (AAOMPT) and a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). For over 40 years Dr. McDavitt has been practicing in outpatient orthopaedics. He has held PT faculty positions at Boston University, University of New England, and the University of St. Augustine. Steve is an Assistant Professor at South College, School of Physical Therapy in Knoxville and an Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor at Mercer University, College of Health Professions in Atlanta.

In professional service, Dr. McDavitt is a member of APTA's Scientific and Practice Affairs Advisory Committee, APTA Manual Therapy Workgroup and is the President of the AAOMPT Board of Trustees of the AAOMPT Foundation for Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy. Steve served APTA for 2 terms as President of the Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy and two terms as a Director on the APTA Board of Directors. Nationally, he is also recognized for his stewardship as AAOMPT Chair of the Practice Affairs Committee and as its Vice President. Steve’s earlier APTA positions have included being Chair of the APTA Manipulation Task Force and Chair of the Orthopedic Section Practice Committee. For more than 30 years, he has been involved with physical therapist practice outreach initiatives across advocacy, scope of practice, standards, education, regulation and payment in almost every state.

2019 Research Awards Recipients

2019 OPTP $4,000 Research Grant Award

Awarded to:

Shannon Petersen, Des Moines University

"Musculoskeletal Neck Impairments in Headaches Attributed to Rhinosinusitis"

2019 CARDON $6,000 Research Grant Award

Awarded to:

Amy McDevitt, University of Colorado

"Dry Needling and Eccentric-Concentric Exercise versus Traditional Physical Therapy in the Treatment of Individuals with Bicipital Tendinopathy"

AAOMPT 2019 Best Poster Presentations

  • First Place Research
    Presenter: Lynne Hughes

    Effectiveness of a 4-week Physical Therapy Intervention Using Manual Therapy and Therapeutic Exercise to Improve Posture and Functional in Older Adults with Hyperkyphosis: A Preliminary Report

  • First Place Case Report
    Presenter: Shawn Stoute

    Diagnosis of an Intramedullary Thoracic Cavernous Malformation in a Patient Referred for Lower Back Pain

AAOMPT 2019 Best Platform Presentations

  • First Place Overall: Dick Ehrard Platform Presentation Award
    Chris Allen

    Corticosteroid Injection versus A Physical Therapy Approach for the Management of Osteoarthritis: A Randomized Clinical Trial

  • First Place 5x5: Cervicothoracic Spine
    Gary Kearns

    Influence of Clinical Experience on Accuracy and Safety of Dry Needling the Obliquus Capitus Inferior in Unembalmed Cadavers

  • First Place 5x5: Lumbopelvic Spine
    Marc-Olivier St-Pierre

    Assessment of Hip Joint Intra-Capsular Pressure within the Acetabular Cavity and the Lateral Chamber during Hip Testing: A Cadaveric Preliminary Investigation

  • First Place 5x5: Upper Extremity
    Jean-Michel Brismee

    Correlation Between Shear Wave Elastography and Humeral Head Displacement During Sustained Posterior Shoulder Glide Mobilization in A Healthy Cohort

  • First Place 5x5: Clinical Pearls
    Ross Fargnoli

    Avoidance of Planned Cervical Spine Surgery with Cervico-thoracic Spinal Manipulation in A Patient Presenting with Cervical Radiculopathy: A Case Report

  • First Place 5x5: Psychometric Studies in OMPT
    Frank Tudini

    Reliability and Validity of Measurements of Cervical Retraction Strength with A Hand-held Dynamometer

  • First Place 5x5: Hypotheses and Emerging Topics
    Emmanuel Yung

    Blood Pressure-related Hypoalgesia and Sympatho-inhibition Following Mobilization in Neck Pain: Concurrent Analyses From An RCT

  • First Place 5x5: Education
    Evan Petersen

    The Effect of Real-Time Feedback on Learning Lumbar Spine Joint Mobilization by Entry-Level Doctor of Physical Therapy Students: A Randomized, Controlled, Crossover Trial

Honorary Fellows

Year Honoree(s)
2019 Peter Edgelow, Phil Tygiel
2018 Bob Elvey, Bob Syndeham
2017 Joseph Donnelly, Sharon Dunn, Julie Fritz
2014 Trish King
2013 Brad Jordan, Fredrick Hobusch
2012 Greg Johnson, Vicky Johnson, Eileen Vollowitz, Dennis Morgan
2011 Barbara Stevens
2010 Margaret Anderson
2008 Charlie Cardon
2007 Carol Jo Tichenor
2005 Gwen Jull